I made some paper cutouts of shells to see how they might look on the painting. Flowers (blue hydrangeas) were requested too, but I didn’t really know how to incorporate those- unless they were just hanging down into the picture from the top right corner, or maybe peaking up into the bottom left corner.

This is the picture I was to use as inspiration.

I guess she has her kitchen decorated in this theme. I think a painting that fits the color scheme is probably better than me trying to copy the design so blatantly. BUT- I will absolutely do whatever the commissioner desires! (As long as I can figure out how!)

So what do you think? Shells? Hydrangeas? Nothing?

 

I’ve been staring at the thing so long now I can’t tell what looks good or not. It is always a great thing to have a fresh perspective, especially from someone who has nothing invested in the piece.

