I know it’s been a while. If you could see my desk, you’d know why. Amid the Christmas and New Years festivities, it got sort of… buried. And boxed in.

A few days ago I went in there with a tattered old map and managed to uncover the dusty trail leading to the desk chair. I endured many a peril on the way and my arm is weak from machete use; but there lies a clear sight to the desk now.

I got a new computer, so I have to begin the arduous task of deciding what to keep and toss and moving everything to the new one. I have an extensive font library to transfer, and I hope that will be easy. I’m not sure how easy it is to transfer font files.

I’ve been spending a good amount of time playing computer games because it is so much more fun with the new computer. I can actually play a game without the computer freezing up and crashing every 10 seconds. I used to be able to go and get breakfast while waiting for certain things to load- but I don’t have that “luxury” anymore.

A good chunk of time lately has been devoted to “poop detail”, which is a nice way of saying Louie is having digestive issues. Which is a nice way of saying I’ve been up to my elbows in dog diarrhea. One day was especially bad- he had an accident and I didn’t see it and I stepped in it (with shoes) and tracked poop ALL over the house before I realized what was happening. I spent the rest of the day scrubbing the floor, sanitizing the floor, inspecting the floor, cleaning my shoes and yelling. I did take some time to appreciate that we have hard floors and that I did not get any on the huge shag rug in the living room.

Aside from my office, the rest of the house is nice and clean. The exterior paint job is getting close to being complete. I volunteered to paint all the door and window trim and Gordon has to finish the soffits, roof trim and gutters. The front door needs a new coat too, and I think I might go ahead and do that. It’s looking pretty ratty right now.

I’ve also begun to repaint some of the interior doors and trim. Whoever painted them last did a horrible, sloppy job.

On top of that is the chalkboard project (still in the priming stage), the cabinet bead-board project, and there is one more set of blinds to be hung. (We are waiting on some missing hardware to come in the mail.)

So- lots to do. I got an email yesterday asking me to possibly do something with art at our church. I am not sure exactly of the age group, but it involved making art with recycled materials.

Lastly- a recipe. So I had 6 pounds of pork roast and a big bag of turnip greens and I happened upon a recipe that uses both! (not all six pounds of pork, though!) And It was really good!!  Here it is: Stir-fried pork with noodles.

